School Calendar

The 2014-2015 school year calendar has been approved by the HLA Board of Directors and the New York State Department of Education. Should there be any changes to the calendar listed here, we will notify parents immediately and post an updated calendar on the website.

Hebrew Language Academy Charter School

Academic Calendar for the 2014-2015 School Year

Monday, August 25, 2014 First day for all students
Monday, September  1, 2014 No school – Labor Day
Thursday, Sept. 25 – Friday, Sept. 26, 2014 No school – Rosh Hashanah
Friday, October 3, 2014 Half Day / 12 Noon Dismissal, Professional Development for Teachers
Monday,  October  13, 2014 No school – Columbus Day
Tuesday, November 4, 2014 No school for students – Election Day
Wednesday, November 5, 2014 Half Day / 12 Noon Dismissal, Parent-Teacher Conferences 1:00 – 7:00 PM
Tuesday, November 11, 2014 No school – Veteran’s Day
Wednesday, November 26, 2014 Half Day / 12 Noon Dismissal, Professional Development for Teachers
Thursday,  November 27– Friday, November 28, 2014 No school – Thanksgiving Break
Tuesday, December 23, 2014 Half Day / 12 Noon Dismissal, Professional Development for Teachers
Wednesday, December 24– Friday, January 2, 2015 School re-opens Thursday, January 2, 2014 No school – Winter Break
Friday, January 16, 2015 Half Day / 12 Noon Dismissal, Professional Development for Teachers
Monday,  January 19, 2015 No school – Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Tuesday, January 20, 2015 Half Day/12 Noon Dismissal, Parent Teacher Conferences, 1:00 – 7:00 PM.
Monday, February 16, 2015  – Friday, February 20, 2015 No school – Presidents’ Week
Friday, March 13, 2015 Half Day / 12 Noon Dismissal, Professional Development for Teachers
Friday, April 3 – Friday, April 10, 2015 School re-opens Monday, April 13, 2015 No school – Spring Break – Students return on Monday, April 13, 2015
Tuesday, April 14 – Thursday, April 16, 2015 NYS ELA Exam – Grades 3, 4, & 5
Wednesday, April 22 – Friday, April 24, 2015 NYS Math Exam – Grades 3, 4, & 5
Monday, April 27, 2015 Half Day / 12 Noon Dismissal, Parent-Teacher Conferences, 1:00 – 7:00 PM.
Wednesday, May 20– Friday, May 29, 2015 NYS Science Exam – 4th Grade Performance Test
Monday, May 25, 2015 No school – Memorial Day
Monday, June 1, 2015 NYS Science Exam – Written – 4th Grade Written Test
Thursday, June 25, 2015 Half Day / 12 Noon Dismissal – Parent  Teacher Conferences, 1:00 – 7:00 PM.
Friday, June 26, 2015 Half Day / 12 Noon Dismissal -Last day of school for students
Monday,  June 29, 2015 Last day of school for teachers

Weather Delays and Closings

HLA may be closed due to inclement weather or other situations. Public media outlets and parents will be advised through an orderly process for notification. At the discretion of the principal, any classroom days lost to closure due to inclement weather or other reasons may be made up by adding an equal number of days to what was scheduled to be the end of HLA year.