School Calendar

The 2016-2017 school year calendar has been approved by the HLA Board of Directors and the New York State Department of Education. Should there be any changes to the calendar listed here, we will notify parents immediately and post an updated calendar on the website.

Hebrew Language Academy Charter School Academic Calendar for the 2016-2017 School Year

Tuesday, September 6, 2016 First day for all students (regular school day for all)
Thursday, September 8, 2016 Back to School Night (Grades K-5) 6:00-8:00PM
Thursday, September 15, 2016 Back to School Night (Grades 6 and 7) 6:00-8:00PM
Monday, October 3 – Tuesday, October 4, 2016 Rosh Hashanah – School Closed
Monday, October 10, 2016 Columbus Day – School Closed
Thursday, October 11, 2016 Half Day – 12PM Dismissal – Prof. Development for Staff
Wednesday, October 12, 2016 Yom Kippur – School Closed
Tuesday, November 8, 2016 Election Day – No School for Students
Friday, November 11, 2016 Veterans Day – School Closed
Wednesday, November 23, 2016 Half Day – 12PM Dismissal – Prof. Development for Staff
Thursday, November 24- Friday, November 25, 2016 Thanksgiving Break – School Closed
Monday, November 28, 2016 Half Day – 12PM Dismissal – Parent Teacher Conferences 1-7PM
Monday, December 26 – Monday, January 2, 2017 Winter Recess – School Closed – Classes Resume Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017 Half Day – 12PM Dismissal – Prof. Development for Staff
Monday, January 16, 2017 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – School Closed
Monday, February 20 – Friday, February 24, 2017 Midwinter Recess – School Closed – Classes Resume Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017 Half Day – 12PM Dismissal – Prof. Development for Staff
Monday, March 20, 2017 Half Day – 12PM Dismissal – Parent Teacher Conferences 1-7PM
Tuesday, March 28 – Thursday, March 30, 2017 Grades 3-7 NYS ELA Assessment
Monday, April 10 – Tuesday, April 18, 2017 Spring Recess – School Closed – Classes Resume Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, May 2 – Thursday, May 4, 2017 Grades 3-7 NYS Math Assessment
Friday, May 19, 2017 Israel Day Celebration
Wednesday, May 24 – Friday, June 2, 2017 Grade 4 Science Performance Assessment
Monday, May 29, 2017 Memorial Day – School Closed
Monday, June 5, 2017 Grade 4 Science Written Assessment
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 Kindergarten Moving Up Ceremony – Tentative
Thursday, June 15, 2017 Grade 5 Moving Up Ceremony – Tentative
Tuesday, June 27, 2017 Half Day – 12PM Dismissal – Parent Teacher Conferences 1-7PM
Wednesday, June 28, 2017 Last Day of School – 12PM Dismissal

**Please note calendar is subject to change

This calendar was adopted by the Hebrew Language Academy Charter School’s Board of Trustees at a regular public meeting, following normal public notice on Thursday, May 19, 2016.

 

Weather Delays and Closings

HLA may be closed due to inclement weather or other situations. Public media outlets and parents will be advised through an orderly process for notification. At the discretion of the principal, any classroom days lost to closure due to inclement weather or other reasons may be made up by adding an equal number of days to what was scheduled to be the end of HLA year.